Kira Memery

Kira Memery | DPT, SCS (Doctor of Physical Therapy Sports Certified Specialist)

A little bit about me... I am a local to the area, born and raised, and then was off adventuring for 15 years or so before making it back "home." I received my bachelors degree in nursing from  Old Dominion University and continued there in Norfolk to earn a doctoral degree in physical therapy. I have worked in pediatrics since graduating from ODU,  beginning in outpatient therapy with Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters,  then moving into serving the special education services program for school-aged students in several local areas, and more recently joining this team of multi-disciplinary providers as a member of the therapy team (family) providing collaborative care, here in this rural community. I pretty much have my dream job(s)!  My experiences have given me the opportunity with work with toddlers, school-aged children and adolescents with a variety of diagnoses and abilities. I have had the opportunity to lead in a  rapidly growing sports medicine program for a children's hospital, be involved on a multi-disciplinary team in the treatment of pediatric and adolescent obesity, and have worked in a collaborative nature with teaching teams, occupational, and speech therapists in a school setting for children with developmental disabilities. I am grateful for these experiences in a variety of  pediatric settings which gives me a broader perspective of the need for diverse services. I am licensed by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy and am a Board Certified Sports Medicine Clinical Specialist as recognized by the American Physical Therapy Association.   In my free time I enjoy adventuring with my husband Will (also a PT!) and our two daughters, Bea and Violet, hiking, running, and sneaking to the beach any time I can! 


Fun Facts About Kira....

Favorite Color:  Blue

Favorite Desert:  Ice-cream

Favorite Food:  Cheese- any kind really!

Pets:  Roise, well she is my in-laws Hunter lab, but we claim her! 

Favorite Hobbies:  Playing with my girls, exploring new places  

Favorite Disney Character:  Tinkerbelle

Favorite Animal: Giraffe

Other Fun Fact about you?!:  Fun fact about you: I lived in Anchorage, AK for 3 months during graduate school and worked at the Native Hospital System there. I road my bike alongside moose each day on the way to work, and went adventuring on the weekends to see grizzlies, and glaciers, and salmon swimming up stream!